Fast paced, action-packed, YA novel (The Final Hour – Andrew Klavan)

I was excited when contacted by Thomas Nelson to review the final novel in Andrew Klavan’s The Homelanders series, The Final Hour.  Even though these are YA novels, I thoroughly enjoyed both The Long Way Home and The Truth of the Matter, as well as the fourth and final book, The Final Hour.

Charlie West has been through a lot lately…he went to bed one night, and a year later, woke up with no recollection of the previous year.  Terrorists are after him, the cops are after him.  He’s not sure if there’s anyone he can trust.  After remembering more and more, Charlie realizes that there’s a terrorist plot in the works and he is the only one who can stop it.

I am amazed at how Klavan wove this complicated plot throughout his series.  I appreciated how the story evolved and all of the loose ends were tied.  Charlie is a hero, truly, and his decision making process would be a great example for young adults.

My only concern was some of the rhetoric.  As a middle school teacher, I am always in awe of how impressionable teenagers are.  Throughout the novel, Klavan paints his characters with a wide brush.  While I think it’s important to delineate between right and wrong, I think it is just as important to remember that not all stereotypes fit all people.  Yes, I’ll give him the skinhead stereotype, but Klavan’s writing seemed to depict all Muslims as terrorists.  As an adult and a Christian, I think it is dangerous for young adult books to use black and white rhetoric to portray inaccurate stereotypes.

All in all, I did really enjoy the fast paced action thriller that was The Final Hour, and I was thankful for a resolution to the series that had captured my imagination.  Thank you, Thomas Nelson, for this book to review.  These are my honest opinions. 🙂

Your thoughts?

